Learning About Photoshop

For the last two weeks in class, we’ve been working with Adobe Photoshop. Since I have used InDesign pretty extensively over the last few months, I was expecting to find Photoshop pretty simple to use. I don’t think that was a mistake, but there was certainly a bit of a learning curve, even though I have used the software before.

One of the things that is the most difficult with me while learning to use Photoshop is keeping track of all of the layers and remembering to deselect things before changing which tools I’m using.

One of the tools that I really like is the clipping mask tool. I like being able to take different images and texture and fit them into text of different shapes without needing to have any kind of precise drawing tools or skill.

I am interested in learning more about the different blend modes. I’ve found a blog post from Photo Blog Stop that explains a lot about what the different modes do. Although I’m not sure if I’ll dive in as deep as that post does, it’s a good reference to have to narrow down which modes to look at when I’m trying to achieve a certain effect.

Leave a Reply

